The Most Active and Friendliest
Affiliate Marketing Community Online!

“AdsEmpire”/  Direct Affiliate

Industry pratices for links from competitors

P

positivecarry

Hello everyone,

I am studying some SEO and have some questions about getting links from competitors. If you want to rank high for a keyword, is it not true that some of the best links would be those from the top spots in the serps when that keyword is searched?

Some of these sites may be direct competitors while some could be just broader authority sites. If a high ranking direct competitor does not have an add link area, do you even bother with attempting to get a link from them?

If you are involved in massive link building should you build a reciprocal page or will reciprocal linking do more harm than good these days. I have read that if you don't properly manage outgoing links with no follow then the outgoing links will drain link juice. Any validity to this? Any thoughts or experience, much appreciated. Thanks.

Let me start with this systematicaly, so 1 by 1.

1 "If you want to rank high for a keyword, is it not true that some of the best links would be those from the top spots in the serps when that keyword is searched?"

Yes, they would be great links, and if you can exchange links with a site like this, do it. But i would only do it with these sites. and the trick is to make sure they are not using a nofollow tag also, or they are worthless. Yahoo just implimented the "nofollow" at this last update Here is the link Yahoo! Search Blog: Yahoo! Search Support for X-Robots-Tag Directive to Simplify Webmaster's Control and Weather Update

2."I have read that if you don't properly manage outgoing links with no follow then the outgoing links will drain link juice. Any validity to this? "